How many countries are on the Equator?

Equator is an imaginary circle around the Earth that divides the Earth’s sphere into two hemispheres – Northern hemisphere and Southern hemisphere. Do you know the land area of how many countries is touched by the Equator?

Countries on the Equator

There are 11 countries whose land area is touched by the equator. The 11 countries are –

  1. Ecuador
  2. Colombia
  3. Brazil
  4. São Tomé and Príncipe
  5. Gabon
  6. Republic of the Congo
  7. Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)
  8. Uganda
  9. Kenya
  10. Somalia
  11. Indonesia

What is the length of the equator?

The length of the equator is around 40,075 kilometers (24,901 miles).

Does the equator pass through India?

No, equator does not pass through India. Tropic of cancer passes trough India.

8 Indian states through which the Tropic of cancer pass –

  1. Gujarat
  2. Rajasthan
  3. Madhya Pradesh
  4. Chattisgarh
  5. Jharkhand
  6. West Bengal
  7. Tripura
  8. Mizoram

Does the equator pass through Brazil?

Yes, in fact, Brazil is the only country in the world through which both the Equator and the Tropic of Capricorn pass.

How many African countries are on the equator?

The equator passes through 7 African nations.

  1. São Tomé and Príncipe
  2. Gabon
  3. Republic of the Congo
  4. Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)
  5. Uganda
  6. Kenya
  7. Somalia

Read more

Scroll to Top